Home

   Townsend productions in association with the IBMT, Harrogate Theatre, The Place, Bedford, Unite the Union.
  TOURING AUTUMN 2016 
  DARE DEVIL RIDES TO JARAMA a new play by Neil Gore  

 
   
                     
 
        “To you we speak, you numberless Englishmen,
       To remind you of the greatness still among you
       Created by these men who go from your towns
         To fight for peace, for liberty and for you.” 

Clem Beckett and Christopher Caudwell were    such men. Moved by most Spaniards’ determination to defend themselves against Franco’s rising fascist army, they crossed the Pyrenees, like so many other volunteers that recognised the defence of Spanish democracy against fascism was their fight too.

Clem ‘Dare Devil’ Beckett, the rugged Speedway star, and Caudwell, literary critic, poet and aeronautical expert, were considered unlikely friends; but a common cause brought them together and they died at their machine gun post covering their battalion’s retreat at the Battle of Jarama in February 1937.

Commissioned by The International Brigades Memorial Trust,“Dare Devil Rides To Jarama” is a new play by Neil Gore that tells the story of the British and Irish volunteers at the beginning of the brutal Civil War in Spain, and captures the raw passions and emotions of idealism and despair, hope and anger, determination and fear,   through powerful storytelling, stirring songs and poetry and flamenco dance.

Following the success of Townsend Productions’ previous tour                                

THE RAGGED TROUSERED PHILANTHROPISTS”,                                                         

WE WILL BE FREE! - Tolpuddle Martyrs,

UNITED WE  STAND

‘TREMENDOUS’ THE TIMES 

 A striking piece of work’ THE OBSERVER 

★★★★★ 'UNMISSABLE' Everything Theatre 

★★★★  'SPECTACULAR’ London Theatre 1

★★★★★ EXCELLENT’ The Morning Star

 ★★★★ -PASSIONATELY DELIVERED’Liverpool Echo

















AUTUMN 2106 TOUR DATES

SEPTEMBER

24 The Place Bedford (Box office: www.theplacebedford.org.uk; 01234718112)

26 -30 Harrogate Theatre (boxoffice@harrogatetheatre.co.uk; 01423502116) 

OCTOBER

1 Harrogate Theatre (boxoffice@harrogatetheatre.co.uk;01423502116)

4 Loganlea Miners Welfare (Box office: The Pitstop, 01501-763354)

5 North Edinburgh Arts  (Box office: 0131 315 2151; northedinburgharts.co.uk)         

6 -7 Lowry Salford (Box office: 0843 208 6000; Groups Line: 0843 208 6003) 

8 Waterside Theatre, Aylesbury  (Box office: 08448717607; www.atgtickets.com/shows/aylesbury)

11 Guildhall Derby (boxoffice@derby.gov.uk; 01332 255800)

    12-15 Oldham Coliseum (Box office: 01616242829; www.coliseum.org.uk)

18-19 Castle Wellingborough  (Box office: 01933270007; www.thecastle.org.uk)

20 Chilwell Arts Centre Beeston (Box office: 07861 308044)

21 The Lansdown Hall Stroud (Box office: The Subscription Rooms 01453 760900)

22 The Seagull, Lowestoft  (Box office: 01502 589726; www.theseagull.co.uk)

24- 29 The Bussey Building Peckham (Box office: online www.clfartcafe.org; 02077325275)

30 The Marx Memorial Library London [extracts & songs (Box office:02072531485; www.marxmemoriallibrary.org.uk)

NOVEMBER

1 Hertford Theatre (Box office: 01992 531500; www.hertfordtheatre.com)

2 Wedgwood Rooms, Southsea (Box office: Wedgewood Rooms 02392863911 Kings Theatre 02392828282)

3 The Plough Arts Centre, Gt Torrington (Box office: 01805624624 www.theploughartscentre.org.uk)

4 Dorchester Arts Centre (Box office: 01305 266926; www.dorchesterarts.org.uk) 

 5 Bridport Arts Centre (Box office: www.bridport-arts.com; 01308 424204 

7 Theatre Royal Margate (boxoffice@margatewintergarden.co.uk 01843 292795)

10 Barnsley Civic (Box office: 01226 327000; enquirie@barnsleycivic.co.uk

12 Cast Doncaster (Box office: 01302 303 959; castindoncaster.com)

13 Severn Theatre Shrewsbury (Box office: 01743 281281; www.theatresevern.co.uk)

14 -19 Lantern Theatre Sheffield (Box office: 0114 255 1776; www.lanterntheatre.org.uk

21 -26 Lantern Theatre Liverpool (Box office: 01517030000 lanterntheatreliverpool.co.uk) 

29 Lighthouse Poole (Box office: 0844 406 8666; www.lighthouse poole.co.uk)


30 The Place Bedford (Box office: www.theplacebedford.org.uk; 01234718112)
                                                                            
                                                    DECEMBER  
                                                                                                       
   1 Square Chapel Halifax (Box office: 01422349422; www.squarechapel.co.uk

   2 The Hat Factory Luton (Box office: 01582 878100; http://www.lutonculture.com/hat-factory)

  3 Ruskin College Oxford (Box office: 01865 759600; www.ruskin.ac.uk)

Twitter Timeline


   



Comments