Home

       In association with the IBMT, Harrogate Theatre, The Place, Bedford, Unite the Union.
  TOURING AUTUMN 2016 
  DARE DEVIL RIDES TO JARAMA a new play by Neil Gore (Interview with Neil Gore  Click Here)

 
 
 
        “To you we speak, you numberless Englishmen,
       To remind you of the greatness still among you
       Created by these men who go from your towns
         To fight for peace, for liberty and for you.” 

Clem Beckett and Christopher Caudwell were    such men. Moved by most Spaniards’ determination to defend themselves against Franco’s rising fascist army, they crossed the Pyrenees, like so many other volunteers that recognised the defence of Spanish democracy against fascism was their fight too.

Clem ‘Dare Devil’ Beckett, the rugged Speedway star, and Caudwell, literary critic, poet and aeronautical expert, were considered unlikely friends; but a common cause brought them together and they died at their machine gun post covering their battalion’s retreat at the Battle of Jarama in February 1937.

Commissioned by The International Brigades Memorial Trust,“Dare Devil Rides To Jarama” is a new play by Neil Gore that tells the story of the British and Irish volunteers at the beginning of the brutal Civil War in Spain, and captures the raw passions and emotions of idealism and despair, hope and anger, determination and fear,   through powerful storytelling, stirring songs, poetry and puppetry.

AUTUMN 2106 TOUR DATES 

DECEMBER  
1 Square Chapel Halifax (Box office: 01422349422; www.squarechapel.co.uk
2 The Hat Factory Luton (Box office: 01582 878100; http://www.lutonculture.com/hat-factory)
3 Ruskin College Oxford (https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-a-new-play-by-neil-gore-tickets-28507993175)

SPRING TOUR DATES SO FAR!
January
26 The Carriage Works, Leeds (Box office: 0113 3760318 http://www.leeds.gov.uk/carriageworks/Pages/Whats-on.aspx)

February
1 Lighthouse, Poole (Box office: 01202 280000 https://www.lighthousepoole.co.uk/whats-on)3 Buckerall, Devon (Box Office: 01363 773660)
4 Burton Bradstock Village Hall, DT6 4QS (Box Office: 01308 897421 www.artsreach.co.uk) 
5 Cadeleigh Parish Hall, Devon (Box office: 01884 855311) 
6 Buckerall Village Hall, Devon (Box office: 01884 855311) 
7 The Swan Theatre,Worcester(Box office: 01905 611 427 http://www.worcesterlive.co.uk/events_review.asp?eid=453059663 
9 Diss Corn Hall On Tour (Box office: 01379 652241 http://www.disscornhall.co.uk
10 Pound Arts (Box office: 01249 701628/712618 http://www.poundarts.org.uk/pound/liveevents.aspx
12 Northern Ireland TBC 
13 Northern Ireland TBC 
14 Northern Ireland TBC 
15 Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich (Box office: 01473 295900 https://www.wolseytheatre.co.uk/shows/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama 
16 Old Fire Station, Oxford (Box office: 01865 263990 http://www.oldfirestation.org.uk/event/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama/
17 Cramphorn Theatre, Chelmsford (01245 606505 http://www.chelmsford.gov.uk/event-type/theatre
20 London TBC
21 London TBC
24 The Hen and Chicken, Bristol (Box office: 01749 870078)
25 Marine Theatre, Lyme Regis (Box Office: 01297 442138 http://www.marinetheatre.com/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-saturday-11th-february/)

March
1 Wortley Hall (Box office: 07974531211 PoliticalSecretary@wortleyhall.org.uk
2 Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough (Box Office: 01723 370541) https://www.sjt.uk.com
3 The Maltings Theatre, Berwick- On –Tweed (Box office: 01289 330 999 https://www.maltingsberwick.co.uk
4. Blantyre Miners’ Welfare, South Lanarkshire (Box office:01698 454690 /unison@southlanarkshire.gov.uk
5 Eden Court, Inverness (Box office:01463 2334234 https://www.eden-court.co.uk
8. Durham Miners Gala TBC (Box office: TBC) 
9. The Freedom Centre,,Hull (Box office: 01482 710100)
10 Owlerton Stadium TBC
12. MAC, Birmingham -(Tel: 0121 446 3232 https://macbirmingham.co.uk
15. Mitchell Arts Centre (Box office: 01782 409307 http://www.mitchellartscentre.co.uk
16. The Met (Box office: Bury 0161 761 2216 http://themet.biz/next
17. Theatre Colwyn (Box Office: 01492 872000http://www.theatrcolwyn.co.uk
26. The Players Theatre, Thame (Box Office:Tel: 01844 217228) 



DARE DEVIL REVIEWS

Twitter Timeline

★★★★★ 'Dare Devil Rides to Jarama is quite simply the best political theatre produced for a long, long time.' MORNING STAR

http://www.morningstaronline.co.uk/a-44c7-Tremendous-Townse…

★★★★★'Dare Devil Rides To Jarama is outstanding entertainment' LONDON THEATRE1

https://www.londontheatre1.com/news/150420/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-at-the-bussey-building-peckham/

★★★★ 'An ingenius production by Louise Townsend' Reviews Hub http://www.thereviewshub.com/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-st…

★★★★ 'Another excellent two hander from Townsend Productions' The Good Review http://thegoodreview.co.uk/2016/10/x-dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-oldham-coliseum/

★★★★ ‘Informative and inspiring. Loved it.’ London city Nights http://www.londoncitynights.com/2016/10/review-dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-at.html

★★★★"Dare Devil Rides to Jarama" wonderful piece of theatre! Theatre Reviews http://theatrereviews.design/dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-4-stars/

'The play, a two hander in Harrogate Theatre's Studio, is a powerful evocation of those troubled times.' Yorkshire Times http://www.yorkshiretimes.co.uk/…/Dare-Devil-Rides-To-Jarama

'This is a thoughtful, lively production'  British Theatre Guide    http://www.britishtheatreguide.info/reviews/dare-devil-ride-the-bussey-buil-13644

Moving, funny and inspiring tribute to working class heroism' Socialist Party http://www.socialistparty.org.uk/articles/23793/19-10-2016/moving-funny-and-inspiring-tribute-to-working-class-heroism 

Neil Gore’s script brings together a delicious mixture of poetry, prose and music. Theatre Things

https://theblogoftheatrethings.com/2016/10/27/review-dare-devil-rides-to-jarama-at-the-bussey-building/

 Dare Devil Rides to Jarama at @Busseybuilding 'history with heaps   of heart'  The Bardette  http://thebardette.co.uk/dare-devil-rides-jarama-bussey-bu…/ …

  'A Wonderfully engaging two man show' Bedford Clanger
    http://thebedfordclanger.com/2016/clanger-review-dare-devil-rides-jarama/

'Go see"Dare Devil rides to Jarama".Be entertained,be wiser,laugh 
& be angry. Fascism's not yet dead.' Rodney Bickerstaffe








































 Townsend Productions’ previous tour                                

THE RAGGED TROUSERED PHILANTHROPISTS”,                                

WE WILL BE FREE! - Tolpuddle Martyrs,

UNITED WE  STAND

‘TREMENDOUS’ THE TIMES 

A striking piece of work’ THE OBSERVER 
★★★★★ 'UNMISSABLE' Everything Theatre 

★★★★  'SPECTACULAR’ London Theatre 1

★★★★★ EXCELLENT’ The Morning Star

 ★★★★ -PASSIONATELY DELIVERED’Liverpool Echo


YouTube Video


























































   



Comments